Rules Explained - Foul Snookers & Free Balls
Back
Free balls can only be claimed after a foul when a player is snookered, to understand free balls you need to understand snookers..........
A player is Snookered when it is impossible to play the finest cut possible on both sides of any of that player's own Colour by way of a "straight - line" shot
A player cannot be Snookered by a ball of the player's own Colour. That is, if one of the player's own coloured group is an obstructing ball, it will be ignored for the purposes of determining a Snooker.
A player cannot be Snookered on an Object Ball if the Cue Ball is touching that Object Ball. (so if the white ball is right up against the ball it is not a foul snooker)
A player cannot be Snookered by the straight sections of the cushions. If a straight section of a cushion is preventing the finest possible cut on the side of an Object Ball, that section of cushion will be deemed not to exist for the purposes of determining a Snooker on that Object Ball.
If an Object Ball is partly obscured by a curved section of a cushion (Jaw), this in itself does not constitute a Snooker.
So you have established that you have a foul snooker so you can ... a) Play the Cue Ball from where it lies.....or b) Ask the referee to remove the Cue Ball so as to allow the player to play from Baulk.
If you are going to play the cue ball from where it lies you will be entitled to play a free ball, which means you can nominate any of your opponents balls or the black to be classed as one of your own for the purposes of your next shot, once you nominate a ball you may strike any of your balls with the white ball and pot the nominated ball or any of your own balls.
You may pot the ball that you have nominated or use it to pot another ball without any foul (See Rule Foul Snookers 4a (ii) below)
(ii). Once nominated, a ball is deemed to "become one" of the player's Colour for the first shot of the first visit. The player may then play any of the player's own Colour or the nominated ball. If any of the player's Colour and/or the nominated ball is potted, the player continues with the first visit
If you nominate the black and pot it you will the lose frame unless........ you are on the black then ..........
If neither the Eight Ball nor the nominated ball is potted, the player's first visit is complete
If the nominated ball is potted and the Eight Ball is not, the player continues with the first visit.
If the nominated ball and the Eight Ball are potted, the player wins the frame.
If the Eight Ball is potted and the nominated ball is not, the player wins the frame.
If you chose to move the white ball into baulk then you may still be foul snookered, in this case the rules above apply
If you chose to move the white ball into baulk and can play an unobstructed ball then you play using the normal two shots that you would receive from a standard foul under the same conditions.
© 2011 - Onwards by Andy Livermore All Rights Reserved